FO – Child’s Messenger Bag from One-Yard Wonders

Flashy front
A bag for my niece

Pattern: Child’s Messenger Bag from One-Yard Wonders by Rebecca Yaker and Patricia Hoskins
Fabric: Something I bought at Åhléns one or two or three years ago
Project time: Wednesday March 9th, 2011 – Thursday March 10th, 2011

Open
With an open flap and a visible inner pocket

Ramblings: I thought the design was interesting with its bottom corners (see picture below). I’ve never seen a box-shape made that way. Don’t know how practical it is (I imagine dirt and stuff to quite eaily get stuck in those folds) but it looks neat.

Bottom corner
One of the two bottom corners

I had some problem attaching the Velcro on the bag body. I didn’t think the measurements in the book made sense on the placement of them so I used my intuition and moved them up a bit. I should’ve used more of my intuition and moved them even further but I chickened out. And ended up having to rip the ones on the flap and move them down a bit. I haven’t found any errata on this so I don’t know if others have had the same problem or if I just didn’t understand how to place a rectangular Velcro-piece 10.5″ from the top edge…

Strap
Part of the strap and the golden fabric

Overall, I enjoyed the fast project. From cutting out the pieces (standard rectangles of different measurements) to having a complete bag only took about three-four hours.

The bag is huge (for its recipient) and I just hope my little niece don’t drown in it…

One response to “FO – Child’s Messenger Bag from One-Yard Wonders

  1. Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

