FO – Elijah the Elephant

Elijah the Elephant Elijah the Elephant

Pattern: Elijah by Ysolda Teague
Yarn: Left-over Idena Cotton Sport from a project that never really happened some years ago
Needle: 3mm/2.5US
Project time: 5 days of knitting in November 2010 and 2 hours to embroider the eyes and crochet the scarf in december 2010

Standing Elijah A Standing Elijah – I love his feet and hands

Knitting this was straightforward, especially after already having done Ysolda’s Sophie the Rabbit (go here for a blog post on Sophie). They are very similar in construction.

I’m not too fond of how the neck looks like though, so just as for Sophie, I added a scarf. This one is crocheted using one strand of lime green and one strand of raspberry pink of BC Garn Allino (a cotton-linnen blend) held together.

IMG_4725
I forced Skorpan to model with Elijah to give you some sense of the size he turned out. As you can see, Skorpan wasn’t too interested in the knitted elephant…

Elijah and other stuffed toys Elijah is here modeling with three beanie babies that I have placed on top of our glass cabinet in the dining area. The ostrich was a gift and I bought the other two myself on my first visit to Canada, back in 1999.

I made Elijah for the baby of two of our friends. The boy was born in December and we got to see him when he was 10 days old. His parents were happy with the gift but the baby was way more interested in sleeping than playing with his new cuddly toy. 🙂

6 responses to “FO – Elijah the Elephant

  1. Oh Elijah, you’re so cute! And oh Skorpan, you’re so cute! It’s only now dawning on me how much my Oliver resembles Skorpan (which I’m sure you’ve mentioned, but now I’m seeing it!)

  2. Adorable!! And so is Skorpan!!!

  3. Du skulle ju kunna byta karriär! Alla dessa vackra ting du skapar…

    /Kram Mona

Leave a Reply

