Placemats for my parents

Front of placematsThe six placemats on the floor

I made placemats for my parents for Christmas. You can find the tutorial/pattern here over at Handmade by Alissa.

The fabrics are from IKEA, except for the black linnen fabric on the front. Can’t remember where I bought that. All fabrics were pieces I already had at home. Same goes for the batting. I had to buy biased tape and thread, but was it.

Close up of quiltingClose up of the quilting

Back of placematsThe back of the placemats

CornersMitered cornes with biased tape (I’m showing you three that look nice and I keep the others to myself!)

I love the end product and so do my parents. Apparently my mum thinks they’re too pretty to use on weeknights so they only come out on weekends. She’s silly! 🙂

I was surprised at how much time I had to spend making them though. The last one was finished just a couple of hours before I had to leave for the Christmas party. Cutting the pieces took time. Sewing with linen fabrics is more work than cotton fabrics and I had totally forgotten how linnen bahves when it kind of shifts sideways. I had to be extra careful when pinning to make ends match. And there was a lot of ironing going on as well. Quilting took about 30 minutes per placemat. And I think I spent 1½ on getting the first biased tape attached around the edges. I got faster and faster at doing it though (and maybe a bit more forgiving too) and the last one was fastened in 40 minutes or so.

10 responses to “Placemats for my parents

  1. This are gorgeous! ❤

  2. I love the design and the colors! They look great.

    • Thanks, Tricia! I think Alissa made a good job at making the design look professional. And I love bright colours in textiles so any excuse to use these IKEA-fabrics. 🙂

  3. Those are awesome! You have such a fun eye for fabrics.

  4. Those are so pretty!

    I’ve got a few sets of napkins, made for me by my mother, that I think are too good for ‘everyday use.’ They come out on special occasions… :blush:

    • Thanks, Geeky! I guess it’s a compliment that my parnets consider them to nice for everyday wear, but honestly, with all the time I put into them, they can’t use them enough. 🙂

  5. Anna! These are stunning! I wouldn’t use them on week nights either.

Leave a Reply

